the jungian shadow & the unconscious

Carl Jung theorized the existence of three levels/spheres in the human psyche: the Ego, representing the conscious mind,
the Personal Unconscious where memories are contained and the Collective Unconscious,
where all knowledge and experiences of the species are shared.

the structure of the mind

Each Sphere has in it a certain number of Archetypes,
used to better describe the components of those structures, and the Shadow is one of them.

the self & its shadow

The shadow can be seen as a instinctual or primitive part of ourselves, it exists as part of the unconscious mind and is composed of repressed ideas, weaknesses, desires, instincts, and shortcomings.
It is this archetype that contains all of the things that are unacceptable not only to society,
but also to one’s own personal morals and values, normally going against social norms and rules as well as what we personally consider right.
The Shadow is often described as the darker side of the psyche, representing wildness, chaos,
and the unknown, and it is common for people to deny this element of their own psyche and instead project it on to others.

[go back]

get to know your shadow with tarot

A Natureza da psique (Structure & Dynamics of the Psyche) by C.G. Jung
The Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious by C.G. Jung